Nick Sismey

Monday, 19 August 2013 11:09

Magazine 447



Friday, 09 August 2013 18:48

Round 18 - Spa - 30Jul13

Our 18th Club Night of the year was run on the new Spa-Francorchamps circuit. Our original Spa circuit, run on 11 occasions since 1995 never really represented the high speed Ardenne circuit. Therefore Phil Rees’ remit, as well as bringing the bus stop chicane up to date was to increase the speed of the circuit. All agreed he had done a great job having produced a track that really flowed. This was backed up with both Fastest Laps being faster than the original Spa records.

Thirty racers started our 446th Club Night with Jamie Sismey taking his eighth win of the year in the Adults. However he did it the hard way having to win the ‘B’ Final first. Jamie recorded the most F1 Laps of the evening in the ‘A’ Final to take home that track record. Pole Sitter and Championship leader Lee Pateman took home the other four track records on the way to third overall.

Reigning double Junior Champion James Mellor returned after a seven meeting sabbatical due to his GCSE’s to take his third win of the year. Despite this he can no longer retain his Championship which is looking very much like it will be taken over by Jacob Pateman with only two other competitors able to beat him in 2013. Jacob also took three track records to James two.

Eight year old Zach Roythorne returned to take the Cadet win while Doug Johnson won the Adult Non-Member Final, six year old Lucas Blake the Junior Non-Member Final.

Ashley Chattle models the racer white board showing all 30 starters and which race they are in

Reigning Junior champion James Mellor seemed to have grown another six inches in height since he last attended seven meetings ago

It was great to have Cliff Roythorne (right, with yours truly) make the long trip from Bristol on Tuesday night

As was it his two sons Zach and Ben

Cartoon characters were the norm for the Junior GC cars

The results follow

The Junior Non-Member ‘A’ Final was won by our youngest racer, six year old Lucas Blake

Two of our winners Luke and Jamie Sismey (not sure the green sticker adds anything!) in front of one of the nine new DHORC A0 size posters DHORC has produced for future corporate events to entice new members!

‘C’ Final winner Jamie Lymer in front of two more DHORC posters

The Finals were Tyco F1 cars this week

The Junior ‘A’ Final came in all sizes!

There was no change to any of the three main Championships after the Spa round. Nine Members are still mathematically capable of winning the Adult Championship, their names highlighted in green. As mentioned above just three can win the Juniors

Lee Pateman and Neil Chattle now lead the Team Championship

Jacob Pateman now joins Peter Martin at the top of the DHORC Challenge table

A full report can be found in the latest Club Magazine in the Magazine section of this web site

Monday, 05 August 2013 11:19

Magazine 446


Monday, 05 August 2013 11:18

Magazine 445


Friday, 28 June 2013 20:13

Magazine 444


Friday, 28 June 2013 19:57

Magazine 443


Friday, 28 June 2013 19:56

Magazine 442


Friday, 28 June 2013 19:52

Magazine 441


Friday, 28 June 2013 19:49

Magazine 440


Friday, 28 June 2013 19:31

Magazine 439


Page 20 of 21